Home   /   What's New  /  Reviews  /   Pat Green
Pat Green

Pat Green


By Paul Nicholson


If you like your current Country Music to have a modern sound with a more traditional edge, then Pat Green’s latest album fits into that category perfectly.

While the Luke Bryans, Cole Swindells and Florida Georgia Lines of the world continue to push the boundaries of the Country Music genre, producing sounds that crossover between country, rock, pop and even hip-hop, Green’s ‘Home’ album has a more down to earth country feel about it.

Not that there’s anything wrong with new styles and sounds, but just sometimes it’s just nice to put on a CD and listen to some good ol’ country twang.


‘Home’ is the first studio album from the Texan native in over three years, and he has lost none of the qualities that were consistent through all of his previous releases.

It kicks off with the title track ‘Home’. It’s relaxing, chill-out sound is a sign of things to come from the rest of the album. A title that is more than appropriate, as the song truly does have a ‘homely’ feel to it.

‘Break It Back Down’ is next up – one of three singles so far that feature on the album – A great melodic track with beautiful fiddle and slide guitar musical arrangement.

The third track ‘Girls From Texas’ is another song released as a ‘45’ and features Grammy Award winner and fellow Texan, Lyle Lovett. A simple song depicting everything that Texan women have that others don’t (I’ll let you make your own minds up about that).

‘Bet Yo Mama’ brings a bluesy vibe to the fore and shows the array of lyrical styles that that Pat has in his musical arsenal.

The album truly has everything that you could ask for, including beautiful ballads, which is exactly what ‘Right Now’ is. Featuring the legendary Sheryl Crow, it’s a gorgeous song that is sure to bring a tear to the eye of that special someone you dedicate it to.

Another collaboration makes up the third single on the album ‘May The Good Times Never End’ which features Texas Heritage Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees Lee Roy Parnell providing vocal and guitar support, and Delbert McClinton on harmonica. A traditional country jamboree of a song, that is the epitomy of featured soundtracks in clichéd saloons in Western movies across the years.

The album ends with ‘Good Night In New Orleans’, another song with a guest artist, namely Marc Broussard. It is basically, the whole album condensed in one track. It has a beautiful acoustic introduction, before bursting into life with a melodic upbeat tune that will have you singing and tapping along.

‘Home’ is a compilation of what traditionalist will call ‘proper country’. In reality it is more than that, it is a collection of tracks that are both poignant and fun. The best thing about it is that it is the type of album that will never go out of style, and will be stored on your playlist for months or years to com. If it isn’t, then it should be.

If you like what you hear, I recommend that you go to Spotify and check out his 1999 album ‘Live At Billy Bob’s Texas’.



Track Listing

  • Home
  • Break it Back Down
  • Girls From Texas (featuring Lyle Lovett)
  • Bet Yo Mama
  • Right Now (featuring Sheryl Crow)
  • While I Was Away
  • May The Good Times Never End (featuring Delbert McClinton & Lee Roy Parnell)
  • Life Good As It Can Be
  • No One Here But Us
  • I’ll Take This House
  • I Go Back to You
  • Day One
  • Good Night In New Orleans (featuring Marc Broussard)


Annette Gibbons
Hi, I’m Annette, I have been a huge country music fan since the early 90s those were the days we were lucky enough to have CMT in the UK. I enjoy nothing more than listening to country music whilst having a cold beer (or a moonshine) with friends. I try to as many gigs as I can here in the UK and in the USA; I think of Nashville as my second home and I am lucky to have made some amazing friends in Tennessee. Think Country is something I am very proud of, I just want to share my love and passion of all things country music related with you all.
Related Article