Home   /   What's New  /  Features  /   NEWS: Donovan Woods announces release of new album ‘Without People’ coming November 6th
NEWS: Donovan Woods announces release of new album ‘Without People’ coming November 6th

For many musicians, the coronavirus-caused quarantine put a halt on creating new songs; however, award-winning singer-songwriter Donovan Woods adapted quickly from his makeshift home recording studio to create his new album ‘Without People’ out on 6th November. The announcement is accompanied by the release of a new track “Seeing Other People”. Listen HERE.

While the album was created by musicians who were all contributing remotely, it encompasses the most intimate moments of human connection — something most people continue to yearn for more than five months into the current global pandemic.

On Without People,’ Woods showcases his ability to illuminate the importance of tiny moments in relationships — from the innocent, unadulterated first blush of budding love on songs like the current single “Clean Slate” to the complexities of the father-son dynamic on “Man Made Lake” and the appreciation of a lover’s grace in one’s weakest moments on the Katie Pruitt duet “She Waits For Me To Come Back Down.” On “Lonely People,” celebrated British singer Rhys Lewis delicately echoes Woods’ sentiments about wanting to be alone – until you’re suddenly lonely.

“This album made me think about how easy life would be without other people, and how useless it would be,” says Woods.“This is what my brain wants to write about, so I suppose my responsibility is to follow it further and further into the most fearsome feelings I’ve got.”

Woods recruits co-writers Tucker Beathard, Ashley Monroe, Barenaked Ladies’ Ed Robertson, Thomas Finchum and Katie Pruitt to create a lyrically-forward collection of songs bound by themes of the human condition. Long-time collaborator and producer, James Bunton and vocal producer Todd Clark (Dua Lipa, Noah Kahan, Phillip Phillips) round out the musically diverse creative team behind the album.

“I dove in deeper on this album than I ever have,” says Woods. “So if we are coming to the end of something, I can say that I tried my hardest to write truthfully about the people I’ve loved and the things I did wrong, and add my little verse to the story of what it feels like to be a person.”

For the release of ‘Without People,’ Woods is committed to supporting individuals in marginalized communities. Woods launched his Humans of New York-esque Donovan Woods With People Projecton Wed., Jul. 29, championing independent creators from North America, United Kingdom, Sweden, Kenya and beyond across a diverse range of art mediums including graphic design and illustration, painting, dancing and more. Woods is collaborating with the artists from all over the world to create visual interpretations of each song on the record.’ Watch the first illustration created by Toronto-based designer/illustrator Iris Li below:

With over 265 million streams to date and 1.5 million monthly listeners, his acclaim resulted in a JUNO Award (Canada’s Grammy equivalent) for Contemporary Roots Album of the Year for his most recent album ‘Both Ways’. His high-profile credits including Tim McGraw (‘Portland, Maine’), Charles Kelley of Lady A (‘Leaving Nashville’) and Billy Currington(‘Sweet Love’).

‘Without People’ tracklist:
1. “Without People” (Donovan Woods, Drew Jurecka)
2. “The Last Time I Saw You” (Woods, Jake Etheridge)
3. “Seeing Other People” (Woods, Dustin Christensen)
4. “We Used To” (Woods)
5. “She Waits For Me To Come Back Down feat. Katie Pruitt” (Woods, Katie Pruitt)
6. “Clean Slate” (Woods, Jeremy Spillman, Tucker Beathard)
7. “Man Made Lake” (Woods, Ed Robertson)
8. “Interlude” (Woods, Travis Wood, Tom Douglas)
9. “Lonely People feat. Rhys Lewis” (Woods, Dustin Christensen, Jessie Jo Dillon)
10. “Grew Apart” (Woods, Wood, Logan Wall)
11. “Whole Way Home” (Woods, Andy Skib, Thomas Finchum)
12. “High Season” (Woods, Ashley Monroe)
13. “God Forbid” (Woods, Robertson)
14. “Whatever Keeps You Going” (Woods, Wall, Femke Weidema)


Official website Spotify Apple Music YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter


Annette Gibbons
Hi, I’m Annette, I have been a huge country music fan since the early 90s those were the days we were lucky enough to have CMT in the UK. I enjoy nothing more than listening to country music whilst having a cold beer (or a moonshine) with friends. I try to as many gigs as I can here in the UK and in the USA; I think of Nashville as my second home and I am lucky to have made some amazing friends in Tennessee. Think Country is something I am very proud of, I just want to share my love and passion of all things country music related with you all.
Related Article